top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Voita

It's Time for Ayton to Shut the Luka Lovers Up

You miss him. I miss him. The team clearly misses him.


When the news broke following the Suns’ first game that we would be without our sophomore double-double machine, my heart sunk. I own stock in Ayton Island, a lovely little dot on the map which see constant tribal battles against the Luka Lovers. Did I feel Luka would make a jump this year? Yes. But I also felt that this season, following reports of a leaner, more physical, and more athletic Ayton, we would see the 2nd year center take a leap as well.

I was excited as I sat in my cramped purple seat at Talking Stick Resort Arena to see him play with physicality and finesse on opening night against the Kings. Side note to the Suns Renovation Team: please do something about those seats…give me a little more elbow room! We all know how the game went; DeAndre dropped his usual 18 and 11, and his underrated defense showed improvement as he swatted 4 attempts by the Kings into oblivion.


The next day, less than 24 hours after finding myself chillin’ on an Ayton Island hammock, the Bleacher Report notification on my phone left me puzzled. A diuretic? What the fuck is a diuretic? 25 games?! Was he dealing diuretics?! Oh man, there goes the season. There goes any hope of improvement. It was almost like a breakup as I went through the series of emotions, from anger to disbelief, from frustration to sadness.


The result of Ayton’s dismissal has actually been a blessing in disguise. Without him in the paint nightly, we’ve had the opportunity to see and understand James Jones’ thought process as he constructed this roster. We have fallen in love with the red bearded maniac Aron Baynes, appreciated the hustle of Cheick Diallo, and now know why Frank Kaminsky is barely worth the $5M a year contract he signed. The bench guys have seen action….maybe a little too much action…and in doing so it has allowed them to grow. To gain confidence. To be ready when they are called upon again.


Alas, we are a nearly week away from Ayton coming back. It feels as if we’re obtaining a free agent. There is excitement. There is anticipation. There is one thing that this franchise has not felt in nearly a decade: hope. No longer are we satisfied with a 30-win season. We want the playoffs. Anything short would be a disappointment. Why? Because we have seen the potential of this team. It is deep. It is flexible. It is physical.


Ayton has a plenty to prove when he comes back December 17. There are members of the fan base still frustrated with his decision to put himself before the team. He needs to win them back. He needs to show them that he has grown due to this incident. He needs to make them forget it.


Reports are that he is antsy to get back. He has been around the team throughout the duration of his suspension, which is such a positive thing. It keeps him engaged, it keeps him in a good head space, it keeps him motivated.


So it’s on you, Double Deuce.

Will you come back and continue your passive offensive approach? Or will you come back angry? Pissed off? Ready to tear this league to shreds for hitting you with a suspension that cost you 30% of your sophomore year. That’s what I want. I want Ayton to be savage, to be physical, to kick ass and take names.


What should be in Ayton’s mind? “Oh, Luka this, Luka that? Fuck that and fuck you. You’re coming to Talking Stick Resort Arena and you have to go through me. Not by me, not around me…through me. And know that I am going through you”.


The wait is nearly over. Less than a week. DeAndre: it’s time to shut the Doncic lovers up and fortify our faith in you. Because if you don’t, I might start taking some diuretics...

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page